Healthy Means Hungry?

As I said in my last post, I have started commuting and spending a lot of time thinking about vegetables.

In a previous incarnation (about 4 years ago now) I was really rather skinny, something which did not go unnoticed, largely by my mother and a trainee nurse friend of mine. I don’t know how it happened to be honest, but it all dropped off me overnight.

Then Uni happened and very slowly it all piled back on, and the some more – and then some more than that, just for good measure, I suppose. In the exact words of my grandmother I “did puff up a bit there, like a little puffball”. That was encouraging.

The commute and moving to London means I’m moving around more than I would ideally like (it’s almost exercise, you see, and I have a terrible allergy to that) so I am losing the pizza pounds.

But…

I am only just starting to think about my life in terms of healthy eating and moderate portions (even though I have eaten a LOT of pretzels today – let’s blame that on work stress and a delightful invention of my friend Anna’s called “Fat Friday”), and it really helps having a partner who is embracing the idea of healthier eating with me.

It’s actually relatively easy to do, and we’re living on a pretty restricted budget at the moment – but I’m sure there’s a way of managing on even the tightest of budgets. I’ll have to get back to you on that one after I go shopping tomorrow though!

The thing I really like, as I’ve said before, my favourite part is creating the menu – quick, simple and yummy. I haven’t had time to bulk cook anything yet so time is of the essence, the last thing I want to do when I get home at 8:15 every night is start chopping and carving and what not, so it’s all pretty bulky and ‘rustic’ – just the way my mother taught me!

Still looks pretty and colourful though, so I’m happy.

This weekend, I’m going to be making a butternut squash and coconut soup, flavoured with ginger and lemongrass – in bulk, and then freeze it down. The best thing? I can make enough soup for 8-10 portions for under £3. Not bad, huh?!

There is something so wonderful about cooking and having fun with ingredients that it’s pretty much what gets me through the dreaded commute. I’m going to start writing more about food and cooking with limited time and a limited budget, because I suspect that there are many people my age that want to eat healthy things and have no idea how to start.

I didn’t – it was my unofficial personal food guru, trainer and wonderful D6 office manager Helena that helped me – and she keeps giving me excellent ideas, she’s thoroughly wonderful and it would do you all good to take her advice (and she didn’t tell me to say any of that).

I hope she likes my soup. James won’t. Apparently he had a traumatic experience with a butternut squash when he was younger. Take that how you will.

About delightfulinconsistency

Anthropology Graduate with a head full of nonsense and comic books.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

